How a BLDC motor works and why a hub motor gets hotter

Triggered by a number of discussions between @hummie, @devin and @brams and because of science I’m digging into this, making a fool out of myself trying to explain why a hub motor gets warmer than a satellite motor cruising at the same speed. Btw, the short answer up front: because of the lack of gearing!

Disclaimer: I’m not a professional writer nor a teacher. And English is not my first language. Just some dude trying to explain things. I will also have to simplify stuff, hopefully not oversimplifying. So please be patient with me but step in when I’m wrong.

How does a BLDC motor work? First we need to understand how a Brushless DC (BLDC) motor works. Regarding the mechanics a BLDC motor is very similar to a step motor and a synchronous motor and a brushed DC motor. I’m not going to discuss mechanics here for now.

The main difference between the mentioned motors is how they are controlled. Synchronous motors are AC motors. They ran at a frequency set by the AC current supply. Synchronous motors don’t have much with regards to control as the frequency of the input and thus their RPM is normally given. Under load they still run with the same frequency but increase to draw current. Note: most synchronous machines are used as generators. Actually, all of the synchronous motors can be used as generators.