Detail Explanation of Motor Electrical Specs

Hi newbie here, I have some background in electrical stuff, but I don’t specialize in power applications. I haven’t actually built a board yet, but planning to start and experiment.

I’m trying to run some numbers for the electronics, motor speed, efficiency and such, and have a few questions regarding the motor model. I’ll post what I know, please correct me if there are inaccuracies stated, and feel free to contribute, I would be very interested in hearing about the true performance specs of motors you guys have on hand for comparison purposes.

From what I understand KV is the no-load rpm per volt applied. For brushless motors though, the controller and the commutation method adds a layer of complexity.

I plan to use FOC anyway so let’s assume perfect sine wave output, which will drive it like a 3-phase AC motor with a biased neutral voltage. Speed is a function of frequency but let’s assume the FOC perfectly matches output frequency to instantaneous rpm via detected back EMF. Effectively torque is induced until magnitude of back EMF at some max rpm reaches the voltage applied.

When KV is defined for brushless motors, which applied voltage is referring to? Is it the 3-phase line-to-line Voltage or the per phase voltage? Since its a wave, is the voltage measured in RMS voltage, amplitude voltage, or peak to peak voltage?