VESC | Smooth acceleration from a stand still

Since I’m new to configuring VESC and didn’t see anything specific about this, i thought i’d start a thread for it for myself and anyone else.

I want to start from a stand still without kicking, but it seems like my motors are just jittering as i slowly pull the trigger. When i kick and squeeze, its fine. But i want to not have to kick. How do i do this? I’m not running sensored motors, so is it possible without them?

I’ve got twin R-SPEC 6355s on here and I’m using FW 2.7 FOC.

2 Likes

That’s interesting. I’ve never used a vesc, but I thought one of it’s selling points was good startup torque using a special algorithm. Maybe the algorithm doesn’t apply to foc.

@longhairedboy I’m not the resident VESC expert, but I’ve been using one for a few months and with single motor I have always been able to take off from a standstill with only the tiniest bit of “jitter” when using the motor in “BDLC” mode. I’m assuming you’ve run the config for each motor already, correct?

Just last night I started using FOC mode and it’s the smoothest startup I’ve ever experienced. If you haven’t tried FOC already, start there!

You can bump up the “startup boost” value a tiny bit and that might get you moving from a standstill more easily.

Also, are you giving the throttle enough juice to get moving? I’ve found that w VESC the throttle curve is very progressive. Can you get moving if you “gun it” a little more?

Huh, I can start from a standstill no problem with the VESC and a single enertion 6355.

I’ll post a video this weekend (if I get to it)

ok Sorry for the false alarm!

I was just too terrified to squeeze the trigger enough. I admit it. This build scares me. lol

Luckily i got a full face motorcycle helmet recently for free.

2 Likes