How to keep balance and ensure I don't wipe out going 20 MPH

Hello awesome people of this forum!

I got my Acton Blink S2 like a week ago and have put like 10 to 20 miles (16 to 32 km) on it since I received it. The fastest I’ve gone on it is about 10 MPH which feels very fast but I’m looking forward to going a consistent 20 MPH, so that I can go to college and back in a timely manner. I think going fast isn’t as big of a concern of mine as it is maintaining a proper stance / posture and not falling off.

I stand exactly like this (I have a goofy stance): img_8608web

My first issue is that my front foot & ankle get super fatigued and feel tired after a few minutes of riding. Is this normal? Since I’m a beginner and have never ridden a board before, will it just go away after riding the board for a bit or am I standing on the board / using it incorrectly?

The other, more important, concern of mine is not falling off when I eventually start going 20 MPH. I haven’t gone that fast yet, but over the next few days my goal is to reach that speed (which is the max speed on the Blink S2). Here’s the thing though. Sometimes while going at 10 MPH, my board can sway side-to-side slightly so that makes me feel uneasy. How do you guys make sure to not fall off while going 20+ MPH?

Also, the way to my college is a straight road but since the sidewalks are really messed up, I’m thinking about going on the bike lane the whole way there. I just feel like going 20 MPH right next to cars is super dangerous, even with protective gear. Is it really that bad or am I just overthinking it? Once I get used to 20 MPH, will it be that bad travelling on city streets next to cars?

Please help me stop being a wuss.

Thanks!

Your stance is regular as per the pic. You are going to find all kinds of new muscles that need to be developed so you’ll be sore for a while. Take your time and get used to the board. Try to learn how to stop without power.

Congrats on the purchase.

1 Like