Carbon Stealth Bomber | Dual Hubs | Dual VESC | 10S3P 18650 | Freebord Bindings

Based after @whitepony’s gorgeous Carbon Jet Spud, I decided to build my own. For those looking for more, much more beautiful photos, check out his build. (linked below)

So, I’m gonna skip past most of the routing I did, since @whitepony did it better, mine ended up with a bunch of bumps and imperfections in it. (It was very ugly)

I basically just routed a slot in the bottom of the board.

Skipping straight to the vacuum bagging, this is my first attempt. I laid down the bottom layer of vacuum bag material, then the board, then unidirectional CF, then two sheets of 2x2 CF twill, then peel ply, then breather material. I was too anxious and didn’t have connectors for the hoses, so I just inserted them from the side and used gum tape to seal them in. Then, seal everything up and VACUUM!

This is as far as it has gotten so far, the vacuum is still working. More pictures to come!!!

Here is @whitepony’s build log: http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/carbon-jet-spud-freebord-bindings-single-vesc-10s3p-lg-hg2/5805

9 Likes

Nice! I hope to have mine going soon as well, what hubs are you using with the freeboard bindings?? Can hubs take the beating??

I’ll be using both Hummie and Jacob hubs, I’ll use whichever is best. Hummie will be here first, Jacob will be here in a month or two (or more)

Really I don’t have any experience with hubs so if they can’t take it I’ll move to belt driven.

Nice! I’m going Carvon, just need to sort the battery out now

oh, nice!! :grinning:

is the breather soaked so much that it became transparent? my breather/soaker material is very thick, more like felt!

looking forward to the results, vacuum bagging is a lot like xmas as a kid - waiting 24hours and then finally the big moment with unwrapping :smile:

1 Like

I actually used a different kind of breather material, it’s actually a kind of mesh . I didn’t use soaker, we’ll see how it turns out.

1 Like