Whats the consequence of running less than 7000-8000rpm on my motor?

Hi guys!

I’m new to understanding this, so I plan on getting a motor with 230KV from the torgue diyelectricskateboard guy and running a 7s6p battery through it.

To help me understand for dummies, is there significant downside to not reaching the 7000-8000rpm people recommend? So far according to the math sheet, my RPM will hit 5796 (after all calculations)

1 Like

less efficiency which will result in more heat across the board.

To expand, if you run a higher voltage you can get less current draw = less heat = more efficiency! 10S is a sweet spot for efficiency and stability.

everyone says 10s is the best of both worlds, but I find 12s works even better, especially with hummies hubs. And no issues on stability with the vesc for me…

for sure! If you keep the kV low enough you shouldn’t have many problems. The main issue lies in voltage spikes during braking that can cause errors/damage in the VESC on larger motors. I’m betting, with the VESC 6.0, these will be non-issues.

Thanks for the great insight! I’m really happy I get to learn allot :slight_smile:

What do you mean by voltage spikes? Also asking from experience, do you believe running a 7s or 8s setup would cause a significant enough of a heatup for me to be concerned?

I intend to be driving at most, 20-30km/h and setting up my VESC with a remote capable of throttle control (probably wiiciever and nyko wiimote) for steady progressive breaking

I also intend to encase my battery and vesc in a carbon fibre casing

Voltage can spike during braking to unsafe levels (for the VESC), though I’m unsure as to what causes larger spikes. Given the naturally higher voltage of 12s, it’s more prone to this than 10s.