Vibration damping / Suspension / Whatever you want to call it

Alright, so first things first, I’m a first time builder.

I’m building a board for commuting. Mainly to school, but not exclusively. For this reason, the board has to be small, to fit in my locker. Not necessarily a penny, but definitely not a longboard.

None of the above would be a problem, if everything worked as I expected it to. On the first test ride, I came to a conclusion: The board is a lot of fun to ride, but only until the first crack in the pavement, or a ledge. (My city is full of pretty big cracks. One or two wouldn’t be a problem. Having one or two / 10 METRES is more than just annoying)

I thought having 97mm wheels would be enough, but as they aren’t the softest, it is unrideable. Not necessarily the board, but the sound that it makes when it hits something, worries me so much. I can’t think of anything else, than the fact that all this stress gets to the motor :sweat:.

I have caliber trucks, and a stiff deck, so basically the wheels are my only chance to kill vibrations.

My qustion is the following: WHAT SHOULD I DOOO??? (That is cheap and not too bulky :neutral_face:)

Here are the options I have found:

1, TRAMPA from the man: @okp

Pros:

• Beautiful
  • Probably goes over everything

Cons:

• EXPENSIVE af
  • Pneumatics have to be replaced often, if ridden on concrete -> even more expensive.

2, This…

Pros:

• Relatively inexpensive (50 euros/pair)
  • Looks promising

Cons:

• Never seen it tested, maybe it isn’t functional in real life…
  • Not that slick
  • Raises board
  • New holes have to be drilled.

3, Avenue suspension trucks

Pros:

• Kind of works
  • Cheaper than trampa
  • Looks better than option “2”

Cons:

• Pain in the ass to get it working
  • Uncertain of what happenes at high speed
  • Still pretty expensive (You have to buy: the trucks, risers, maybe even combine the baseplate with other trucks like evolve)
  • Not sure if it makes that big of a differance