Trouble with space cell 3

Setup: Space cell 3 pro - 10s3p 12S TB ESC with 12S rated ubec TB mini 2.4ghz controller 16/36T gear ratio w/ 83mm wheels

Issue: Works wonders for the 1st 2 miles after a full charge After it goes down to about 82-85% charge level (about 2 miles), it is no longer able to go faster than 5-7 mph.

I tried this with a 6S battery(instead of the space cell) and had absolutely no issues for 4 months so I’m leaning towards the fact that the BMS could be the issue.

Note: Also noticed that when I turn off the power, it doesn’t turn off for a whole minute (slowly creeping down from the charge level to 0%).

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Any help is appreciated

Thanks

Did you change your max voltage and voltage cutoff settings on the TB ESC if that’s possible? I have no experience with these :wink:

I think you can program the ESC with a programming card to dictate how many cells your battery has. If that’s not done that may be the reason.

Ok, I’ll try that out today. I think that could be it. Thanks @ThomasRBK, @Jinra

Happy to help :slight_smile:

I’ve only ever programmed it directly on the card, so I guess I have to connect this to a computer with the build in mini usb on the programming card?

Maybe some pictures? Really don’t know how this ESC works :sweat_smile:

On the card you can choose the voltage cutoff. I keep mine off because no one trusts TB 12S ESC to do proper voltage cutoff.

ah, I have mine at 3.4v…What are the risks involved with turning it off?

Same as @Pantologist I ran this same Esc with low voltage protection off because it doesn’t work accurately.

That you need to keep an eye out yourself :wink: It just doesn’t cut off your lipos when the voltage per cell is too low. So if you have a voltage meter in between that’d do the same in combination with some monitoring.

1 Like