Tips for the LiPo batteries to last longer

i read some tips in this forum and others from internet, but i don’t know if all of them are true.

note: i’m not an expert, i broke my first two lipo batteries.

1- don’t fully charge the batteries, stop the charge at 4.19 because if you are using a VESC you can overcharge them when you use the brakes. 2- don’t discharge them below 3.7v, if you want to charge them full the heat can break them. 3- don’t charge the batteries quickly after use, wait a while to cool them. 4- use a lipo alarm buzzer to control the charge. 5- don’t use batteries in series with different specs. 6- don’t use batteries with a lot of difference charge load. 7- charge batteries one by one. 8- charge batteries in series is dangerous. 9- don’t charge above 4.2V. 10- for a longer lifespan is better to use the “balance charge” mode. 11- use the storage mode if you are not going to use the batteries in 3 days. 12- calibrate your balance charger before charging. 13- never leave a charger unattended. 14- if you battery has 2200mAh would be charged at no more than 2.2A, but it’s better to charge at 1.1A.

what do you think? if do you know more tips share it on the comments below

thanks

1 Like

Most seem ok only one I don’t agree with is charge in series as long as it’s wired correctly should have no issue. But what I would say is I could be more dangerous to charge in parallel as you could get false reading if a sell is down, where as in series if a cell goes down it will show.

2 Likes

I thought LiPos could be discharged down to around 3.4V.

Hmm, there are some good points in there. I would correct some statements.

1- don’t fully charge the batteries, stop the charge at 4.19 because if you are using a VESC you can overcharge them when you use the brakes *** agreed, this really extends the battery life. I would even suggest stopping at 4.15 or 4.17V (and has nothing to do with VESC)