Thumb drive vs. Finger drive

Hello,

I’m about to mod my remote to a small one. Right now i have a pistol grip quanum, but police stopped me about it thinking it was a gun. So what are your thoughts one a thumb drive like say the boosted board or a finger drive like a badwolf mod?

i’m not a programmer , nor a hardware engineer .not even a technician . i see myself as a handy man . i’d like to introduce to our esk8 enthusiasts a new probable eboard controller . be ready for order end of nov 2016 . (sigh*) i found a new device in youtube and techinsider . i wonder if it could be use as an eboard controller . i see many engineers and programmers here in forum , can some one hack and add a bluetooth connection to this device to pair with and eboard ?

move forward ? point index finger reduce speed ? all 5 fingers straight brakes ? hold a fist switch off ? snap a finger

just program the Gest device . i believe that it is a bluetooth device . and we need a bluetooth receiver to command the VESC . what do you think ? is it possible ?

This is a cross roads between Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical engineering. Gest really does make it look simple and great, but durability is a huge concern here.

The closest we could get to making a decent controller thats glove like would involve electrical contacts between finger tips and palm. This is mechanically more robust and involves fewer parts and can be washed (sweat, dirt, thane dust from slides).

If there is enough interest in making a slide glove remote, I’ll do a quick draft (I’m a BME, so its just a matter of finding the time to assemble and test).

The following demo commands can be routed like momentary switches to the PCB. Make a fist (4 finger tips in palm): Accelerate. Open your hand (no fingers touching): Neutral. Pinch (3 fingers to palm, pinch index and thumb): Brake. OK (Index and thumb): Cruise Control.