The proof that you can electrify your longboard for 350$

Some short facts in the beginning: This build was made by me and is (of course) improvable. After building there are some things I would change, but I’ll come to this later on. Since I am a poor student and also don’t have access to 3D printing, CNC, or other “heavy” machines I did it really DIY style at all. EDIT: the 350$ is without the longboard itself. You’ll need some flywheel like wheels and Caliber or Paris trucks and some deck.

So how come the 350$? Here’s my build in a nutshell: Electronics: Turnigy SK3 5055 430kv Brushless Outrunner Motor ------------ 50$ Turnigy 5000mAh 3S 20C Lipo pack (2x, so 6S) ------------------ 40$ Alien 120A 2-7S EV Mini ESC BEC -----------------------------------65$ Alien 2.4Ghz Electric skateboard remote control ------------------50$ Quanum E4 Cube 50W Balance Charger ---------------------------20$ Mechanical parts: Alien motor mount with Pulley system--------------------------------120$ Toolbox with a grab handle from a hardware store ------------------5$

Miscellaneous: these things aren’t important if you either have them already or don’t wanna buy them Cell (Voltage) checker 2$ HXT4mm Battery Harness Series Cable 2$ Electronic remote switch (LED ON/OFF) 5$ Dual Ultra Bright LEDs (Red/white for back/front) 5$

So here’re some advantages and disadvantages of my build. The motor has way to less torque. It gives me great top speed but I need to push before the motor can push me. The tool box neither looks good nor provides good air circulation or safety for the components. Also I don’t have a switch so plugging cables is necessary. The good points being the lightweight and the small size of the board. The motor provides amazing speeds when having enough torque! And, my main goal, the board is cheap but functional! If you have access to machines you can also build the enclosure and the mount by yourself to save another 60$.