Tha Crumb | Earthwing NLS Deck | Caliber/Indy Trucks | SK3 6374 Single Motor | Custom Mount | 10S4P | FOCBOX

I have been interested in this for over 10 years now. I have wanted to build one but gave in and bought an Evolve GTX. I had some problems with it but it is running well now. I joined this community so that I can start building my own. I would like to contribute to the community wherever I can.

I am an electrician and hobby machinist. I have a lathe with a milling attachment, drill press and some other shop tools.

I am going to start by building using a downhill setup I have. It is an Earthwing NLS with a Indy in the back and a Caliber 50 in the front. I would like to modify the Indy to accept the motor. Here are some pics of my progress. I don’t really have a plan at this point. I need my motor and pulley dimensions. The rough idea is to turn a bearing shoulder for the pulley and then a section with a flat for the motor mount.

I will keep my progress updated. Thanks for any input or feedback.

-Mason

IMG_2401 IMG_2405 IMG_2403 IMG_2406 IMG_2395 Uploading… Uploading… Uploading…

7 Likes

I’d love to try some Indy trucks, haven’t ridden any in years but used to as a kid. Loved them.

1 Like

i need a lathe.

6 Likes

I like the indies on my shortboards. This longboard was my first. I started out with two caliber 50’s, took a hill and crashed from the wobbles. I did some research and found that by using a less turny truck in the rear I could quench the wobbles. Thats why I have the Indy in the back. It works really well and it feels like cheating. Same idea as the evo decks.

The lathe is a fun hobby. I will do small jobs for people on this forum sk8 related. I am in NE Ohio USA.

So I am wondering if I can mod my old abec 11’s with a pulley mount. They are currently at 64mm.

Whats the OD of a standard wheel pulley? 36t? So my evolve pulley is 32t and about 2" or 51mm.

I’m thinking I will go with 15mm belt, maybe 12 is ok. 6374 motor.

1 Like