Some cell fusing questions : circuit to test the fuse max current?

Hello. I’d like to build a 10s3p with cell fusing. My 18650 are LG-HE4 which have a max continuous discharge current at 20A. I hesitate between 22 and 20 AWG wires for the fuses. Any advice on it ?

Also I am tring to think of a setup to test the current capabilities of my wires. How could I setup a circuit to ramp up the current from 0 to 20-30A to test when the wire would blow and decide (experimentally) which one to use ?

1 Like

24awg has a fusing current of 29.2A, which is 146% of the continuous load. with 3p i wouldn’t move down to 22awg.

20awg has a fusing current of 58.6A. if 1 of 3 cells fail the remaining two cells can only deliver 40A, not the 58.6A needed to blow the fuse on the bad cell.

1 Like

I am not an expert, but here is a list what I found:

• in the datasheet the short amperage is 130A for a single cell. I think this is for a fully charged battery, but should be somewhere near for a drained one.
  • 20awg will be more then 75 °C for 11 amper continous and will fuse less then 1 sec
  • 22awg will 75°C at 7 amps will fuse less then half sec (but it is rare for draw 7 amps continously)
  • Kaly uses 24 awg nickel strips

Thanks guys for your inputs !

@sztamas
I don’t understand your explanations. the 75degrees and 11 or 7 amps are for normal operation, right ? It looks freaking hot to have a fuse at 75 degrees for 7A !!

How do you get the fusing time ? @akhlut mentionned that 20awh has a fusing current of 60A. How can it blow in 1 second with the two remaining cells ? It is because they will deliver 130A (and not the 20A continuous) ?

@akhlut Is there a risk of having the fuses get really hot under normal conditions when using only 24 awg ? @sztamas is talking about 75deg for 7A continuous ?