School project - Tankchair!

Hello, my name is Michael. I go to computer and electronics school. I have a school project i’m going to build with a friend in my class. My school pays for the project, but we have a budget at around 550 dollars.

We are going to build a tankchair, similar to this.

Personally, i have a lot of electronics experience. My grandfather has a workshop and he has teached me a lot. I have built an RC tank and a quadcopter before. My friend knows a lot about cars and how they work and he can also weld.

Now for the questions. I was thinking of using Turnigy Aerodrive 6374 on 12S. I had to find a 12S ESC. I will be using two motors, one per track. I will be gearing the motors a lot, i am going for torque not speed. After a lot of research, i found this ESC: http://www.wheelspinmodels.co.uk/i/85118/

But when i looked through the forum, i found out that using a VESC was the best option, one of the reasons are that normal ESC’s have a chance of smoking. I have read that normal ESC’s are not made for a vehicle you can stand on.

I found this ESC: diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/vesc-the-best-electric-skateboard-esc/

I am thinking of ordering that instead, it supports 12S and 240 Amps burst.

The problem is that i want tank steering. I will control the tank with one stick from my radio. When i move the stick forward i want both motors to move forward, when i move stick to the left i want one motor to spin forward and one backwards. And i don’t want any brakes. I want the motors to move from forward to backwards throttle without any braking. I know the ESC is programmable, but i just want to be sure.

Maybe someone has a suggestion for a better ESC. It can’t be too expensive though, i have almost blown the budget!

Any help? Thanks.

1 Like