Saterno Drop Through | Caliber 2 Fifty | SK3 6374 192v | 8s | Alien Drive Mount | 120a ESC

Hi guys,

Let me first introduce myself, my name is Rene, I’m a web and iOS developer from the Netherlands. In my spare time I build, fly and crash quadcopters.

A while ago I bought a longboard to get the snowboard feeling in the summertime. Recently I discovered this awesome forum and decided to build my own electric skateboard. This is my first electric longboard build

The parts I used:

• Saterno Drop through longboard
  • Caliber 2 Fifty trucks
  • Seismic Speed Vent 85mm wheels
  • Alien Drive Kit Motor mount with 36T x 12T drive pulleys
  • Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 - 6374-192v
  • AeroStar Advance 120A ESC (I know, should have bought the vesc ;))
  • 2x Zippy Compact 4s 5000mah in series
  • DIY Electric Skateboard On Off High Voltage Anti-Spark Power Switch 2-14S
  • TorqueBoards 2.4Ghz Mini Remote Controller
  • Battery indicator display
  • 2x ABS covers from Alien Drive Systems

Some pictures I took during the build

I re-aligned the belt after this picture was taken

First test ride

9 Likes

Very nice build! And welcome to the awesomeness that is e-skating.

You had me at the crash…

Awesome​:facepunch:t2::facepunch:t2::facepunch:t2::facepunch:t2::zap::zap::zap:

Nice build @sanka ! Could you share more about your battery configuration? I see that you’re running the batteries in series to increase voltage (I do the same) but you’re clearly not opening up the box for charging. You’ve got the balance leads external, so how do you switch the wiring during charging?

When I want to charge my batteries I disconnect the leads going to the esc. I made a series adapter on the wires going to the esc. When that adapter is unplugged, all there’s left are 2 xt60 connectors to charge my batteries.

Hope this answers your question :slight_smile:

1 Like

Oh got ya @sanka! So the series adapter is somewhere inside that second enclosure (the one with the battery indicator in it)?