Racerstar 5065 140kv? or 200kv?

This may be a total noob question but I just don’t understand… The Racerstar 5065 140kv brushless motor lists specs for 140kv and for 200kv, so when is it a 140kv motor and when is it a 200kv motor? Or are there two different Racerstar motors, both with the same 5065 identifier and different kv ratings, so they just always list specs for both? And if the latter is the case why wouldn’t they just give each motor a different identifying number? Any insight into this would be much appreciated.

Two different motors. Use a calculator to see what you need. Top speed and torque are going to be a tradeoff, you trade one for the other. 140kv generally is probably better for those motors if your wheels are over 98mm in diameter

1 Like

Drop some knowledge @b264 yo What he said :arrow_up:

Thank you @b264. I have 150mm wheels and I do have the 140kv version. So any idea why they wouldn’t just use a different identifying number (5065) for the motors?

5065 means 50mm diameter and 65mm length. It’s a standard size, along with 5055, 6355, 6374, 6384

Thank you again @b264. May seem like trivial info but to me, less confusion = less headaches. I appreciate the knowledge.

1 Like

One word of caution.

The mounting holes on the racerstar are not the same as a lot of the other 63xx motors. As such some motor mounts will not work. Make sure you check the specs for both motor and mount before ordering.

1 Like

Yeah. 5065 is the physical size. and Kv is how fast it spins per volt supplied.

140kv spins 140 rpm per volt. so at 10 volts it spins 1400 rpm.

5065 is more the can size the motor is actually close to 70mm long if you include the nub at the end.