Open Source Precision Trucks and Hub Motors Project

Hi All,

I am in the process of building my first ESK8, and I am very interested in fabricating my own precision trucks and hub motors much later down the road. I have built 3D printers, drones, and other projects in the past, and I recently taught myself how to use Fusion 360, so I have some amateur experience with engineering and fabricating. I am creating this topic to share my ideas, designs, and to take advice and inspiration from other ESK8ers who are perhaps more experienced than I am.

My goals for this project are:

• Create precision trucks that are designed with ESK8 in mind and hub motors to go with them
  • Build upon and address issues with current truck and hub motor designs
  • Share my designs with the public via thingiverse.com
  • Design with the amateur hobbyist in mind, so that anyone with access to a metal CNC mill can make it themselves

My current ideas for this project are:

• Make precision trucks that use the same bushing and pivot cup dimensions as an existing precision truck (possibly Surf-Rodz RKP) so that instead of having to make custom bushings of dubious quality, people can buy bushings from a tried-and-true manufacturer like Riptide.

• Make Hummie style hub motors rather than Carvon style motors. I know this is a FIERCE topic of debate in the community, but I want to go with Hummie style hubs. Here’s why:

• Stress is more evenly distributed across the motor

• They make use of space much more efficiently