One motor at 60amps or 2 at 30A?

Hi guys! :slight_smile:

I need help from someone with more experience!

I have a board atm with a single 6374 190kv TB motor on it. I’m running a 12S3P battery pack with 30Q cells.

I’m thinking of adding a second motor to it, but… Right now I have to limit my ESC at 60A from the battery as the pack can’t handle more current. If I add a second motor I will have to limit the ESC’s at 30A each. Right?

Do you think I will notice a difference or will it be the same apart from the added traction? I want some extra power for the steepest hills :sunglasses:

I know I should upgrade the battery pack also, but right now I’m on a tight budget as I’m studying for another year.

Thanks guys!

1 Like

The difference will be night and day.

@dareno I don’t need to say it, do I?:rofl:

5 Likes

You will notice a difference going from one motor to two and yes you are correct in the assumption that you have to split the amp draw across both vescs.

5 Likes

I was waiting for you just to make you feel good lol

4 Likes

Old geezer fight, lol

1 Like

The diffrence is huge on a dual compared to single… HUGE!

3 Likes

Not the OP, but I honestly can’t tell if all these answers are sarcastic or not lol

Thanks for all the replies! I can’t understand how the diffrence would be so dramatic with the same power tho’. But I will probably try it out and see :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Best answer anyone gave ever. True builders spirit.

7 Likes

Haha! Experience is knowledge :smile:

4 Likes

Scientia est lux lucis

2 Likes

For everyone who can’t speak Latin. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Slightly off topic question.

But would a for example 6374 motor ran on 40% load more efficient or a 5056 at 75% load

2 Likes

The 6374 would be cooler at least :slight_smile:

It would probably also last longer since it has to do less work

2 Likes

This. Lower temperatures also mean less power losses.

2 Likes