My very first build - for an inexperienced rider. | 125 KV motor | 2x5s1p 5.8Ah | ESC w/BEC ~25-30 kph GOAL | Help appreciated!

Hi!

I’m quite new to this sub and have been lurking and trying to navigate the forum for the past few week(s). I utilized this lurking time by studying, for a lack of a better word, how to build an E-SK8board. I do not really have a budget, other than that I wish to spend the least amount of money, while not skimping on quality parts.

My goal is to achieve a stable 25~30 Kph ride with around 15 km range, and easy charging. From what I have gathered, by studying on this site alongside other means of research, the three most important parts are the motor, battery & esc/vesc. I believe I have selected parts which should meet my goals. Nevertheless, let’s get right to it.

Starting off with what will drive my board forward, the motor: Turnigy D5035-125KV Sensored Brushless Motor

Note: From my understanding, this motor has great torque, but lower speeds.Further, I believe the torque also helps with climbing hills and such and keeping stable speeds overall. Which is why this is my pick. (Suggestions for other, better, motors are appreciated)

Next up, the battery: ZIPPY Flightmax 5800mAh 5S1P 30C x2 in serial (so 10s at 5.8Ah - 37v)

Note: This will give me 5.8 Ah, and since it has an alright C-rating, I believe it to be a good fit for my motor (and ESC/VESC??). To be honest, I am not sure what 1P means in the name. I picked this because I thought I’d want one with an alright C rating, and because my motor says it’s capable of 8 - 12S batteries. (Again, suggestions for other batteries are appreciated)

Followed by the last important part, the ESC w/ BEC or VESC: Turnigy SK8-ESC V4.12 For Electric Skateboard Conversion w/BEC