My E-board-ginity, The First of builds!

This is my first time building a E-board, I’m still in the very early stages of trying to make heads and tails of what i actually need for this build, and that is where (hopefully) you guys swoop in with the expert know-how! I’m currently thinking that my build will be Dual Rear Mounted motors on a longboard. The board is supposed to be able carry me (70kg) to and from uni on a single charge, a round trip of about 18 km or 11.2 miles to those who are mectricly impaired :wink: I’m very open for suggestions!

Hi Krudte, Welcome!

What you have listed sounds easily achievable.

There are a few things that you need to decide/know.

A. Budget, how much are you willing to spend. DIY E-boards can be cheap or they can be pricey… you get what you pay for. It also depends on how much of the constructing you want to do. You can buy all the parts basically ready to go, or you can try building stuff yourself. The later will cost less but (depending on your craftsmanship) potentially look like a frankenstein-style board. VS buying “pre-made” kits and plugging it all together. the later will cost more.

Some reading on the topic:

B. Do you have long steep hills to climb? If so maybe go Dual drive. If it’s mostly flats you could save some coin and get single drive.

C. Choosing a deck, what type is good?

There are currently 3 well know suppliers of custom made eboard parts. You could build a complete eboard parts just from shopping with these suppliers.

1. http://www.enertionboards.com/
  2. http://www.aliendrivesystems.com/

There is also a new player recently on the scene who is making some cool decks that integrate all the components into the deck itself, they don’t do motor mounts. http://www.ollinboardcompany.com/

If you want to adapt hobby grade components into your build check out:

My only other suggestion is do lots of reading to get a good foundation of knowledge so you can make an educated decision.

Start here: