Help with drivetrain selection

Hi there!

I’m a new builder and looking for advise from some experts here :slight_smile:

-----What i already have---- -Kegel wheels (80mm) -DIY mount (v4) + Pulley 36T/14T + 9mm belt -Enertion Vesc (when it arrives) -3* 3S 4AH Battery: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewitem.asp?idproduct=32631 (-> So 9S 4AH in total)

----What I am looking for------ -Motor (mainly which version/KV of SK3): I was thinking of this one: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewitem.asp?idproduct=42031 -BMS for my 9s battery

I know there is the rc calculator for this and i did do my calculations :wink: . I just wanted to have some second opinions/recommendations on my build and double check whether my thinking is right, also i can’t seem to find a place to buy the BMS .

I’d like to go around 27kph max, but more important to me is torque (i have a lot of steep hills in my area).

Thank you for taking the time to help me out! I have a limmited budget and can’t afford a wrong decision :confused:

You’ll probably want to stick to 200-230 kv at most. This will keep you under the VESC eRPM limit (assuming you’re using a VESC) SK3/R-Spec/OM5065/DIY are all good choices!

1 Like

Thank you for your response, I forgot to add that i’ll indeed use the VESC! (When it finally arrives from Enertion haha). I did read conflicting posts on the form that the lower you go in KV the higher torque you get. Is this true or should i just chose my Kv based on my desired topspeed?

Kind regards, August M

top speed is inversely proportional to torque, so yea, you should generally receive more torque for lower kv. sticking to 230kv max for 9s will give you the max speed for the VESC and your gearing should give you adequate torque. If you’re doing a single setup 14/36 is good, but with a 9mm, it may snap. If you’re going to run 9mm’s you may want to invest in a 2nd motor to provide you 18mm’s worth of braking rubber.

1 Like

Welcome AugustM!