Help on DIY Evolve ESk8

Hi i’m fairly new to these electric skateboard forums and i need help and kinda recommendation as in parts and hardware for a board that performs similar to Evolve and maybe even better, trying to make the price as low as possible while at the same time not being losing quality or performance in other words no super cheap garbage Chinese parts

Have you looked into anything?? Start researching on an ESC (preferably a VESC) and battery choice (cell + Ah size), that’ll reduce your choices a lot. You’ll probably need dual motors and a 12s setup, at the minimum.

Btw the build will be quite expensive; just because it’s DIY doesn’t mean it’s cheaper :wink:

1 Like

Use the search for example searching for build thread

http://www.electric-skateboard.builders/search?q=build%20thread

you can see a lot of example setups what people paid for various parts and sometimes some detail on what their experience was like

once you have some idea of what you’re looking at in terms of specs you can punch numbers in here:

http://calc.esk8.it/

or search around for other calculators that can help you determine things like range.

2 Likes

@vixtor.831 Hey Victor, this is how I would go about building an Evolve type board.

First of all, any nice, stiff deck that you like. The Red Ember custom deck by @treenutter is really dope, pm him, you might get a good deal for an amazing deck)

it looks like this:

Evolve have wide trucks for the dual setup, so the 218mm wide trucks from @torqueboards could do)

Get the zealous bearings, they are with built in spacers and are really good quality!

Wheels: get any flywheels, abec flywheels are nice, but any flywheel clones should do! Check out @JLabs website, they are good quality and are on sale.

Also you should get the mini remote from him, its the best price and apparently most reliable. Check it out here: https://buildkitboards.com/collections/remotes/products/mini-remote