Gear ratios affect variable

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to all the electric building, so I don’t know many sources to check. I was wondering how gear ratios can affect speed, acceleration, and torque. Also, should wheel size be chosen off of your gear ratios to balance out the torque, acceleration and speed? I know y’all are a great help. Thanks

Thanks, but I wasn’t looking for a calculator. I wanted to know how gear ratios affect torque acceleration and speed😕

A bigger ratio give more torque and less top speed.

say a hub motor has a ratio of 1:1 so very fast (40mph) but not crazy acceleration.

a standard belt drive has 16/36t = 1:2.25, so 2.25 X the torque of a direct drive, but less top speed. see calculator.

on my build going from 16/36 to 14/36 = 2.57, better for hills and acceleration, abot 3-4 mph slower max.

1 Like

Not only gear ratios affect speed, acceleration, and torque. Don’t forget everything about the motor will, motor width, 50mm vs 63mm. Motor length 54mm vs 64mm vs ~74mm. KV rating of the motor. Then you have the ESC which can control the voltage to the motor. Then you have the actual batteries themselves, cell count, voltage sag, amperage. Then wheel size, wheel surface area.

But for your question, gear ratios, you trade off between higher top speed lower torque/acceleration and lower top speed and higher torque/acceleration.

What build is best? We definitely need your desired results to figure that out, the environment as in how hilly you’ll be skating around, and the rider’s weight.

1 Like

Yes, you are looking for a calculator. It’s going to be a swap between speed and torque.

Use a calculator. Plug in your setup. My example for you will be a really vanilla one using Enertion’s typical:

83mm (flywheel or clone) - 190kv (RSpec example) - 8s (safe starting setup) - 15/36 (motor/wheel gearing):