First Build With No Idea What I'm Doing

I’m new to electric boards, but not skateboarding in general. I think like a lot of us, I first saw an electric board in a Casey Neistat video and I fell in love. I’m a college student so I’m really looking to use an e-board as a form of transportation, so distance is really important to me. Of course, who doesn’t want to go fast either?

Ideally, I want to make a new board totally from scratch, deck and all. The only issue is I don’t have a ton of money for it all–maybe looking at a $100 budget for the deck and $350 budget for the electronics and mount? I really have no idea where to start. I have very little knowledge in electricity (how volts, amps, all that work. I’ve read a bunch of threads on it but I still get confused), but I’m not too bad at figuring out the other hardware. If you more knowledgeable thread members could give me some advice as to where to start like with parts, cheaper sites (I’m trying to avoid kits because I think I can get the parts cheaper on like Amazon, but I don’t want to buy something that isn’t compatible) that’d be greatly appreciated!

Side-note, I thought it’d be cool to paint the top deck of my board like Marty McFly’s hoverboard in BTF2. I’d also like your thoughts on that :smile:

Thanks!

1 Like

Well do a bit of reading on the pinned posts and you´ll find all components you need to build a dope board :wink: Also if you wanna do some Back to the Future stuff:

3 Likes

Glad to have you here! Back to the future inspired me too lol. I started with adept mechanical abilities, and next to zero electrical knowledge. After weeks and months of research, trial&error, I ended up with a wonderful machine that suits me in every way. You can have that too!! Here’s my advice on how to get there:

1. Use the search function before you ask a question
  2. Read the forum guidelines
  3. Always assume that if you don’t know something, someone else has started a thread about it.