Custom Evolve Carbon GT(10S5p 30Q)(Dual FocBox)(Bluetooth BMS)

Hey everyone. This will be my first “build log” here. I figured this would probably be the best place to introduce myself. My name is Dylan, I’m 25 years old and currently reside in Northern California. I’m a Mercedes Benz mechanic by trade(going on 6 years now). I’m certified to work on multiple Hyrbid/full electric models that we sell(pretty recently, MB is just dipping their toe in the electrical game at this point).I am by no means an electrical engineer, but I like to think that my experience gives me a small leg up in this hobby I have taken on. Iv’e been lurking around here for the better part of the last year posting in other sections, and just soaking up info. Anyway, enough about me and onto the battery build.

I have estimated that I have over 6,000 miles on this CGT battery, and at almost 400 charge cycles this battery has seen its better days. It was a junker battery to begin with, and the range was diminishing with every ride. I decided it was time to build a new pack, and I wanted more range than before for sure. I really want to keep the remote/esc setup because I don’t wanna just throw it away and have to buy two vescs(I’ll save that for my custom build). To do this, all I have to do is keep the evolve bms and wire it up to my new pack.

When all is said and done I should have a 10s5p 15AH pack :smiley:

I started by ordering 60 of these Samsung 30Q batteries(50 for the build, and 10 extra for when I inevitably mess something up):

And then I ordered the Sunkko 709a(fyi i wish i bought the arduino kit instead, but this did the job fine):

Next I opened up the evolve and took out the old junker battery:

Then It was time to inspect this bad boy(evolve bms), and trace down each and every BMS wire. It actually wasn’t too hard at all.