Chain drive : iso4b or iso6b? what's the difference?

Hello , i would like to start with my second build ( a mountainboard) before the winter. I was thinking about chaindrive as i bought a 2nd hand lilmidted edition okp mount from a very nice forum member :slight_smile: This is the mount: https://www.electric-skateboard.builders/t/okp-trampa-trucks-motor-mounts-kits-limited-edition/15537. The mount came with wheel sprockets (for superstar hubs) and an iso4b chain. As i am new to chain drive , i was wondering why everyone uses iso6b on their mountainboards. Are there any advantages over iso4b ? Will iso4b be sufficient for offroad or is it meant for street and slight offroad? I would like to use the mountainboard for 100% offroad , is iso4b ok for that? Grtz!

The difference is size, over all shuld be clear that a bigger chain can take higher loads. You basicly trade higher loads for higher weight and size. Many builds these days use ISO6B to have more headroom. The tabel I picked here is also for “normal” steel chains and many people like to use stainless steel today which is weaker which makes “over spec” usage very prone.

I hope you can get it by this table (sorry that it’s in german but I hope you can find what you need, the names are very similar the ISO is very close to our old DIN 8187) You calculate with 25% of the chains strength as a max. load. So for a 04B-1/ISO04B = 0,75 kN with dualdrive 1,5 kN which will work but is kinda close to the calculated max. load, btw overloading causes higher than expected wear on the chain and sprockets and maybe a bent but no critical failure.

If you got the wheel sprockets already I would stick with them (since they are the most expensive parts) after they weared out you can upgrade to ISO06B.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for this very usefull information, i really appreciate. Indeed i already have the wheel sprockets. So I’ll follow your advise and will stick with the 04b for the moment.

1 Like

No problem.