Build VS Buy - people who have done both?

Hi all. Fairly new to the forums, but have been scouring the pages a little bit.

Pretty much I’m wanting an electric board, caught between the two options and can’t seem to make a final decision. I’m mainly looking for transport/commuting, but coming from a 1000+cc motorbike, I’m wanting something that I can still get excited with. In saying that I’m also after simplicity and reliability for day to day use. I’ve tried a rental E-Go, which got my interest in electric boards, however with perhaps underwhelming performance. I’m fairly new to skateboards as such, with some snowboarding background, however I feel I picked it up pretty quickly. Not even positive what sort of board I should be looking at to start with. I’m a qualified mechanic with 8yrs working on cars, and some auto electrical work, so I reckon a board build is definitely within my grasp. I just don’t want to have to be fiddling with something everyday.

Basically, looking for anyone who has built a board and found it has over complicated things? Or has bought an off-the-shelf board and wished they had built one?

Are the benefits of building one worth it when I just want to ride?

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback. Nick

how dangerous do you wanna live speed wise because just 15mph on a 38 inch piece of thin wood feels fast!

buying is easy. but performance probably wont be that great.

building is a little bit harder but you get to learn stuff and it makes the ride even more enjoyable because you made it.

there is another option… get an experienced builder to make one up for you.

3 Likes

Not looking for extreme speed, but being able to use on bike lanes and being able to keep up with most cyclists would be nice.

Thanks for the tip.

Can I ask what you ended up going with? Performance is preferred, reliability is a must, as also is the consideration of cost between the two.