Belt and direct drive

I am a beginner at the e-boards, but I have been doing some brief research over the past months, and have planned my first build. I was looking into boosted boards, but I saw more potential. I had my build planned out, but then panicked when the new trend of direct drive without belts was announced. I was wondering if anyone could explain more about the positioning of motors because I am very confused. Also, there is a lot of controversy if the direct is better or worse… what are some of the pro and cons to it? I am only in high school, but understand a lot of engineering. Also, doesn’t the belt drive have more potential to modify torque, acceleration, and speed? Thanks so much!

Well, in this forum, there seems to be a bit of a mix up of what a direct drive is. There are some threads where hub motors are being called direct drives. In other threads, direct drive is a set up where there is a motor pulley and a wheel pulley minus the belt. Which one are you talking about exactly?

Hub motors

Belt systems are proven to be more efficient than current hub motors on the market and they are tried and tested and reliable. They are for the most part easily interchangeable and sourced, tons of option to fit your design and needs. It’s what Boosted, Evolve and the Raptor use. Hub motors are a sleeker design but for the same output of power you draw more watthours so you get less travel then you would with a belt drive keeping all else equal. Until there is a hub motor that can pull less power consumption and have thicker urethane to protect the motor itself I would say you should have no fear in going belt driven.