Another Truncated Tesseract build

Well let me start off by saying I’ve been lurking around here for a little while gathering information and ow I believe it’s time to contribute.

First a little background. I have a Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering so it would be a fair statement to say I’m a bit nerdy. I’ve always been interested in building pretty much anything and spend the majority of my spare time in my wood shop making furniture. A few months ago I was introduced to electric skateboards by Casey Neistat and the Boosted Board. While I found the idea to be a novel one I found the board to be lacking. So after a few short minutes of googling I found that it wouldn’t be very hard to build my own to the way I wanted it.
Now there seems to be two thoughts to this process, build from scratch and assemble from parts. With my first born daughter still an infant I have more money than time so I chose the latter approach while fabricating what I could.
To start off here is my BOM with associated prices and comments for those that are interested.
Deck: Loaded Truncated Tesseract $230

Trucks – Bears – wheels - risers: Callibur 2’s $54 Reds bone swiss $50 Orangatang Kegels 83a $60 Luxe 0.5 inch $4

Motor & mount: Alien 6355 HEV 190 kv x2 $73 ea Alien drive longboard diy 63mm kit x2 $145 ea

Electronics: Nyko Kama remote $15 DIY Electric skateboard VESC x2 $90 Parallel XT90 connector $9 CAN bus connector $7

Battery: Battery Bro Samsung 25R5 x50 $3.68 ea Dxsoul diy 4 slot 18650 battery holder x10 $32 Mean Well HLG-150H-42A Power supply $62

MISC: Wire, nuts, screws, ect. $50

Needless to say this project coming in at a total of $1373 was way more than my expectations in the beginning. But everything always costs more and takes longer than one would think, and I still came in under the price of a Boosted Board.