An idea for a simple and cheap battery balancer. could this work?

each cell is connected to a capacitor. one cell at a time. using transistors and some kind of an ic, or even a microprocessor. the device is connected to the balance wires only.

second 1: cell 1 connected to the capacitor second 2: cell 2 connected to the capacitor second 3: cell 3 connected to the capacitor second 4: cell 1 connected to the capacitor second 5: cell 2 connected to the capacitor second 6: cell 3 connected to the capacitor second 7: cell 1 connected to the capacitor

This is roughly the idea, not a real diagram:

I’m not very good at explaining things in English. what do you think?

1 Like

Can u explain how the circuit works in detail for idiots?

I’m not sure if this will work but what I will add to this topic is that you can always manually balance them… This is how I have been riding for the last few months. I manually balance once every few weeks by measuring all the voltages of the cells, and using a regulated power supply, tuned to 4.2 volts, to charge up cell by cell until they are all within .01 of each other.

1 Like

One question… why?

I’m not trying to discourage innovation. I just don’t see how the added time, complexity, and risk justifies saving a few dollars to reinvent the wheel. I sure don’t trust my electrical skills enough to design something like this, but maybe you do! Good luck!

1 Like

this is what I use. two of them. very simple and cheap. but I’d like to know how what you show would work

1 Like