Amp draw question on my first build

I’m going to be running a 230kv diy electrics motor. I would ideally like to run 16/36 gears on 90mm wheels. I weight 150lbs give or take a good poop. My question is that I’m trying to decide running a 8s or 6s li ion battery but curious on what the amp draw would be. Also thinking about running a 8s but making 2 4s packs and running in series but, charge them in parallel using a vgs style connector. Do you guys think I can charge each 4s pack using 16 to 18 gauge wires using a balance charger? But still discharge the batteries with 10 to 13 gauge wire

Get 2 4s batteries for that motor.
Amp draw is as much as you feed the motor with till it reaches it´s Watt limit.
8s = 3,7V x 8 = 29,6V
Watt = Voltage x Amps

Charge each pack separately with a balance charger and yes you can use thinner cables. Use cables rated for the amount of amps you´re charger is capable of.

For discharging use 10G wires to avoid any resistance.

Im still no expert in terms of amp draw, especially for longboards… you can try to look up some of the ‘’ whitepony ‘’ posts, he has pushed his board to the extreme I think… :smiley:

Would say go for the watts rating… try to figure out how much power / watts you would need in everyday use… not peak watts, but the continous ones…

Then based on that you should get a rough estimate on what continous amp draw should be and at what batteries to look at.

BTW - what’s gonna be your motor controller / esc? Does not seem that you gonna be using vesc for this ‘‘low voltage’’ setup. Definately harder and more expensive to go with 8s I think, as 6s esc’s are cheaper and more common, in my opinion.

I’ve got a mountainboard… so far I have reached 60A max… that was going full speed and against quite strong wind, watts were about 1200w…