Alpha | Loaded Tesseract | Paris Trucks | BKB 6374 190kv | Custom CNC Mount | 12s | VESC

Hey guys, just wanted to show you my first build here. I’ve been doing lots of research/buying/machining over the last few months, and the build is almost complete. I decided to try make things where I could (I’m an engineer and I’m fortunate enough to have access to some great tools and machines), and as a result the whole thing has taken a very long time… but I’m pretty happy with it so far, learned some new techniques and had good fun along the way!

The detailed specs are:

Board: Loaded Tesseract (used, bought off a local for cheap) Trucks: Paris V2 180mm in silver Wheels: 83mm Flywheel Clones Battery: Torqueboards 12S3P 30Q @torqueboards ESC: Torqueboards VESC Motor: Build Kit Boards 6374 190kv @JLabs Remote: Mini Remote & Receiver from eBay Motor Mount: Custom CNC Milled Hub + Motor Mounting Plate + Belt Cover Enclosure: Custom Carbon Fibre Enclosure (with inspiration from @MasterCho)

This is the CAD for the drive system. I got the files for the Paris trucks off a very helpful Grabcad member (https://grabcad.com/david.doluca-1)!

Turning the trucks in a lathe

Trucks with nice flat surfaces to weld the motor mounting hub onto, with other bits and bobs that came in through the mail

CNC milling the wheel pulley

Machined and welded the motor mounting hub!

Machining the belt cover + motor mounting plate

I gave the external surfaces a brushed look by using a polishing wheel

Assembling the drive

I then thought it’d be a good idea to make a carbon fibre enclosure from scratch. Ended up taking forever, working on it bit by bit after work. I used a 3D scanner to scan the bottom surface of the board, to get the enclosure to follow the contour of the board. Ended up with the full CAD of the board: