Acton Blink Board Modification

I’ve got an interesting question. I’m new to electric skateboards, I wanted something small and relatively fast, for a decent price, so I got an Acton Blink Board. After putting over 100 miles on it, I’m fairly impressed by the thing, the speed and size is great (I use it for a short commute). However, I would love to extend the range. I get 3.5 miles per charge in a hilly area.

My thought is to hook an external battery pack to the bottom of the board. I’ve seen boosted board owners doing this online. The end effect is almost doubling the range. I would like to do something similar to my Blink Board, but I don’t know if it is possible, without frying out the electronics.

I have some RC experience, so I am used to working with lipos and electronics. But I don’t know the best way of going about this.

I’ve opened the electronic cover on the board, to try to get a lay of the land. The battery pack reads 41.4 volts at a full charge. And the pack is 72 Wh. I’m thinking the best way to add a second battery pack is to connect the two batteries in parallel before the VESC???

Battery suggestions are appreciated as well! I was think a 10 cell 18650 battery pack or a large lipo from the hobby store. (I would like double the range or more)

Thoughts???

1 Like

how does it handle hills?

pretty nice that it already has xt60’s for the battery. I would mod the case so you can swap packs and extend range that way.

41.5V is about right for a 10s1p 18560, so just get another on of those made… some 3000mah hg2’s should work nice… you could also do a 2p pack to double capacity but i dont think mixes old/new packs in parrele is a good idea.

oh and thats just an esc(electronic speed controller), VESC is a specific open source esc.

It handles the hills pretty well, and these are pretty steep hills well well above 15% it is rated for. There is a little speed fall off, but not bad.

Thanks for correcting me about the ESC.