2x ZIPPY Flightmax 8000mAh 6S1P 30C...does the 30c mean I'll always pull that much power, or that I simply can

I’m wondering if this battery rig will be too much for my 120A ESC 12s motor to handle. Living in the west side of LA, I’m not really comfortable going more than 15mph, which seems to be well within the capabilities of a 6s. Will this board constantly be putting out 30c, or will it vary depending on how hard/soft I push it?

I’m using a Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 - 6374-149kv. I’m hoping to get close to a 25 mile range to get me where I need to go, which, using the 10wh=1km rule would require me to have a 18,500 mah rig at 22.2v. This rig appears to get me close enough, but I want to make sure there isn’t any major oversight going on, since after all this is my first build

buy a pair of 3S 5000mah 30C batteries and run those on your SK3 149kv. Limit the punch, acceleration and trim so you wont go faster than 15mph. Realistically, a 149kv should get around 20-25 mph MAX, but on pavement would be at 15-25 mph.

TL;DR run 12S on your SK3 and limit your throttle and I didnt answer your question.

1 Like

I didn’t know that about the 149k! I jumped on the sale just because I heard low kv = low IR = higher efficiency = higher torque, good to know I’m not stuck going 10mph or something.

so I can program my ESC to limit the punch and acceleration, which will effectively allow me to draw less amps and get more range at the sacrifice of speed, right?

Whats the esc? 1jknqjnqjnw

TorqueBoards 12s 120A ESC for $145 plus shipping