10s 18650 BMS Battery Build

Hi guys,

I am currently using a 6s setup (two zippy 5000mah 3s in series) and I am looking to add a bit of power and also improve the ease of charging and maintaining the packs. I have read what feels like 100s of posts about building a pack but nobody has really done a step by step newbie guide! After sort of grasping all the do’s and donts of building a reliable pack this is what I have come up with.

I want to use 18650 cells, not sure if these are actually samsung cells but look pretty good for the price. (Oh I’m a student so don’t have that much disposable income haha) http://www.aliexpress.com/item/2015-10PCS-Samsung-Original-18650-ICR18650-26F-2600mAh-Li-ion-3-7V-Rechargeable-Battery-Rechargeable-flashlight/32505862751.html

So if i order 2 lots of those for 20 cells i can make a 10s pack with slightly increased mah ratings. Also gonna need a BMS to keep all these cells balanced. Would this be good? http://r.ebay.com/lNASwp

So the question is how to connect the pieces of the puzzle. Illustrator is my friend so I’ve drawn a pretty simple diagram of the parts and how i think I’m supposed to connect everything. Does this look correct?

Thanks for the help!

8 Likes

Thank god. I am in the exact situation looking to do the same thing. Hopefully some good info pops up in here.

Yeah I’ve found the info really lacking for building small packs for skateboard use. There is some good info on endless sphere but those e-bike packs are huge and expensive!

Once I have this figured out I’m planning on doing a complete build post and also a step by step on building a reliable pack for e-board use. The SPACE cell looks awesome but I have a Loaded Tan Tien thats suuuuper flexy which won’t play nice with the hard case of the battery.