Wiring, Charging, and a whole lot of newb questions

Hi, I am a newb and I dont have anything close to a mechatronics degree, so I need some help. Some questions:

• I am getting two 5000mAh 20C 5S battery and a 70A motor. I’ve done some calculations and im pretty sure my battries are 100 Amp while my motor is 70 amp. Firstly- is that going to work secondly- If my Vesc says 12 battery and motor is 10S will their be problems

• what basic wiring setup should i do. i am connecting the batteries in series, and im going to have a switch, do i still need a anti-spark loop plug or is it fine.

• I have no Idea how charging works, do i need a balance charger, this https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hobbyking-b6-ac-dc-compact-lipo-nimh-50w-charger-eu-plug.html, or both EDIT: because i have two batteries, is their a way to charge both. I know their is a parallel charging board but is their any other way

• 5000mAh 5S batteries are really expensive, what is it okay to go down to?

Thanks Oscar xxXXKOTOXXxx

I would just suggest reading thru some LiPo builds. 10S is the optimal cell amount for VESCs, so I would stick with it. To be honest, unless your making a budget build, these batteries aren’t too expensive. Look at some Li-ion packs to compare to… those are upwards of $200.

1 Like

but my erpm goes over 60000 so i need to cut down on either battery or motor

yes[quote=“Koto, post:1, topic:14194”] will their be problems [/quote]

no[quote=“Koto, post:1, topic:14194”] do i still need a anti-spark loop plug [/quote]

no[quote=“Koto, post:1, topic:14194”] I have no Idea how charging works [/quote]

learn

3 Likes

love your channel

Yes, 10S is the optimal amount for a VESC. And if you do 10S the max motor is 200kV, so go under that. Again, there are a lot of threads that would answer your questions so just read a lot.