Weight vs Speed: doing math for electric skateboard builds

Is there a way to calculate (proper formuals) for checking how a weight of a person impacts the speed of the electric skateboard?

This might help. I’m still trying to understand all of this myself because i’m not an engineer or a physics guru (i’m an artist), despite my family being filled with them.

http://www.physicsclassroom.com/class/energy/Lesson-1/Power

Power = (Force * Displacement) / Time

So if you know how far you’re going and how much time it took, you can use your weight as the force and figure out your wattage.

Somebody please correct me if i’m wrong and of course please offer more detail on how to do these calculations and what units we should be using. I prefer metrics.

1 Like

The basic physics behind this question are fairly straightforward but but I doubt you’ll find a formula that will tell you the speed of a board that accepts the weight of the rider as an input. Perhaps some skater dude made a final thesis on this somewhere. There are just too many variables to account for such as temperature, air pressure, rider aerodynamics, drive train configuration, bearings, wheel hardness, pavement surface roughness etc…

Here is an over-simplified view into the basics:

On flat ground the vector of your weight [W] is perpendicular (it’s vertical) to the vector of the force needed to propel you (which is parallel to the pavement, thus horizontal) and consequently has little effect on your cruising speed.

Newton’s second law governs your acceleration: Force equals mass times acceleration F=m.a To accelerate a mass [m] with acceleration [a] you need to exert a force F.