VESC - FAULT_CODE_DRV. -->discovered later on: JUST FROM STANDING STILL START <---

Hello guys, first post here and REALLY newbie here.

I checked similar discussion, found some, but don’t really get the solutions (if any). So please address me to the correct post if needed.

I’ve got

• the following 190kv motor in single configuration products/electric-skateboard-motor-6355-190kv

• and the VESC products/torque-esc-bldc-electronic-speed-controller

everything run by 12s battery, in BLDC Sensorless mode.

The system worked fine on bench test and on street test. I stopped after few kms to measure the battery voltage and when I tried to restart, I got nothing, just red led blinking 3 times when I push the throttle up.

I walked home and connected the VESC to VESC tool:

• in real time data I get “Fault: DRV”

• when I run the motor detection I get “Bad Detection Results Receiver”

I tried rebooting the VESC, reflashing the firmware and all the basics I read in similar post.

Any suggestions/ideas? thanks Giuseppe

Can you post some screeshots of your settings in the vesc tool? Then it’s easier to possibly spot the cause.

1 Like

Hi @Yecrtz, what settings do you need to look at?

meanwhile here are some

also strange thing is that when I use the arrow key to spin the motor, it sometimes works with left/right keys while it never works (FAULT: DRV) with up and down keys

Looks like you just used the defaults settings.

Mostly, they look like a good starting point to me

That vesc is known to only be good to 50a continous for the battery max setting, you have it set to 60 which is prolly caused the issue

My mistake but It is unlikely that I got up to 50amp… I was going very slowly fpr the test

Plus I volounterly stopped my riding as I said: no smoke, no burning. Just silently no more going after reconnecting the power. I think that if I had drained to much current I would have fried the Vesc and I would have noticed. Right?

UPDATE: