VESC Braking (release)

Upon braking all seems fine but then after a couple of seconds braking releases (freewheels) – This is happening regardless of speed.

Has anyone else come across this or can think of a solution?

192kv motor - 10S 8000mAh (2 x 4000mAh) Max charge rate 5C – 4000mAh = 20A Max Current = 80A VESC settings:- Motor Min (regen) -30 Batt Min (regen) -20

Increasing Motor Min (-40) braking is stronger but release still occurs.

Thanks in advance

1 Like

I’m not an expert, but I thought I’d ask… Are you using a BMS that protects you from overcharge? Does this always happen? Meaning when the battery is full, <90% full, and >30% full? Basically, are you sure your not hitting some overcharge protection?

Yea ive heard if you use a lit of brakes on a fully charged battery you could kind of over charge your battery from the regin brakes cuasing bms to cut off batteries

Unless your using the unreliable wii remote! Ha ha :slight_smile:

Not using BMS.

Whatever is occurring is a response from the VESC.

If it’s overcharge I’m not too worried as peak will be for a matter of seconds. I’ll get some data next week and work out peak A under normal braking.

I’d rather protect my life stopping reliably than the life of the batteries

Thanks for replies - will post results soon.

1 Like

OK - I think I know what’s been going on

VESC was configured when GT2B controller was in original housing I then rehoused inners into a Badwolf enclosure.

I’d cut away part of the Badwolf trigger guard to allow for better movement, this increased the range of the brake – BLDC pulse width range is now between 0.58 and 2 – previously 1 and 2.

I expect when braking in range of 0.58 and 1 without correct configuration caused brakes to fail.

When reconfigured to range of 0.5 and 2 the motor span when controller trigger in rest position – this, I believe, is because the new trigger movement range is biased to brake - 2/3rd brake 1/3 drive and VESC rest position is midpoint.