Under The Sea - V2 | 400wh 12s Lipo | Dual 5065 140kv | Maytech Vesc | Torque218 trucks | GT2B Buffalo | 97mm wheels | Commuter

The reason for the name and what got me into e-sk8 is a funny story. I had a regular trick skateboard with big wheels and risers that I used to commute on so I didn’t have to walk between public transport. At the end of a work party that was on a boat we where walking back down the pier and one of my co workers wanted to try my skateboard. I said sure, just don’t launch it of the side of the pier. 5 seconds after I gave him the board it shot of the side and KA-PLONK. Hence the name Under The Sea. He was kind enough to offer to replace it, he gave me $200 which I used towards building an e-sk8. I don’t think I would have got into it at the time as I didn’t have the budget for one, but I had been thinking about building one for a while.

I have been riding it now for about 6 months and now it’s time for some upgrades, hence the V2 build log. I have been ridding this around 15km 2-3 days a week as part of my commute. It replaces my need for bus or taxi’s.

It was a tight budget build with total spend around $700 usd. Mostly chinese parts, one to keep a low budget and secondly being in Hong Kong shipping is much faster than from the US or Europe. I got the trucks, motors, mounts, belts, pulley, wheels and bearings as a kit of ebay $220. Questionable quality but all that stuff is still working. I have replaced the belts pulleys and bearings though.