The Experiment | Kick Tail Deck | Custom Trucks | Dual Rear Tacon 160 | Custom Mount | 8S Laptop 18650 | VESC

Hello everyone,

I finally got some time to start my build thread. I’m currently a mechanical engineering student and between going to school and working my free time is very limited. I have been wanting to build an eskate for a while now and over the past couple months I started gathering parts for my build. I am calling this build the experiment because I have no Idea what to expect when its done, could be awesome or could catch fire. This mostly due to my battery choice. I have decided to make a 8S pack out of recycled 18650 cells from dead laptop batteries. I know these are not the correct batteries for an application like this, but they were free and I’m curious to see how the pack performs. I have not decided the exact size of the pack but it will be 64 cell minimum, possible even up to 80 cells. Even with this amount of cells the pack will still have a low discharge amperage leading to intermittently pulling 3C or more. Obviously this is no good for the cells, but lets see what happens.

Onto the build. The part I’m most excited for with this build is designing my own truck hangers. I purchased a set of caliber clones before I realized that they were not wide enough to run dual 6364 Tacon motors. An old friend of mine is a machinist and has recently purchased his own 3-axis CNC mill. He agreed to help me out with the trucks as well as the motor mounts.

I sill have a lot of work to do to get this board done, but I hope to finish for the summer. Anyway here is the build list and some images.