Motor stuttering when I try to accelerate - where's my problem?

I’ve been riding my esk8 for the last 8 months without any issues at all, then all of a sudden it stopped working on me today. Whenever I try to accelerate now, the motor violently stutters (so badly that it’s far from being rideable), though the brake still works. I took my board apart and hooked up my VESC to my BLDC tool and I can’t seem to find the issue. I tried accelerating and no fault code came up at all. However when I try to do a motor detection, after some angry violent stuttering from my motor, it keeps saying bad detection result received and “detection failed”.

Board specs: Battery: Space Cell Pro 4 VESC: Enertion Motor: Enertion 190kv

Below are my VESC settings. In my realtime data, is it normal that the “current in” stays so low when I accelerate?

Any help is hugely appreciated! I hope I didn’t short my motor…

1 Like

Sounds like a phase wire short to me. I’d check your bullet connectors at the motor and the VESC. Also check where the wires enter the can of the motor. You may have to remove heat shrink to check it well, just replace it when you are done and don’t short them.

4 Likes

It could also be a disconnection of one of your phase wires. Example: if you unplug 1 phase wire on a working board and try to accelerate, the motor will just stutter. you could have a bad solder joint, or a broken wire.

2 Likes

I don’t think you shorted your motor because a motor short will usually kill the DRV chip on the vesc and you would have a DRV fault show up in realtime data.

@Namasaki @mmaner Thanks for your input guys, but I can’t find any short in the phase wires connecting to the VESC or to the motor itself… nowhere can I find uncovered wires touching each other. Could it be an issue within the wires themselves?

@Namasaki if one phase wire is disconnected from a working board, is that board still able to brake? The brake on my motor still works fine.