Making my electric longboard legal in Germany

My plan is to find a way to make my longboards legal in Germany. For that I studied which vehicles are already legal that are powered by an electric motor. And I came across the “Smart Ped” kick push scooter. As a couple of you know you would need a license plate for electric vehicles which go faster than 6 km/h and accelerate on their own. So the “Smart Ped” doesn’t accelerate. It only holds the speed like a cruise control. And also the motor has a max power output of 250 Watt and max speed of 25 km/h. So I was thinking about the same behavior for my electric longboard. You would have to push on your own but it could hold the speed with 250 watt and stops giving power above 25 km/h.

So is started to look in the code of the Vesc and finally found a way to program this by changing the firmware. I made the first test runs and still need to do some fine adjustments but it looks very promising, only the max speed settings are not yet included.

So the behavior is as described:

• No acceleration
  • When the trigger is pulled the board tries to keep the speed
  • Power of the motor is limited to 250 watts (limited by software, so any motor is fine)
  • When the board can’t keep the speed (up hill) then the board will only try to keep the actual speed: e.g. before hill 20 km/h, on top of the hill 15 km/h because 250 watts was not enough so you would continue rolling with 15 km/h on the flat. To be faster you need to push again and pull the trigger again
  • when the trigger is not touched then it rolls freely
  • full brake power available (saferthan a non-powered board)
  • above 25 km/h the motor can’t be activated

Does anybody see a reason why this shouldn’t be legal then. Because “Smart Ped” kick push scooter does the same thing and it is allowed. But maybe I missed something.

7 Likes