Little Wing | Custom Mini Longboard | Caliber II 160 Trucks | Torqueboards 6355 | Psychotiller's Mount | Zippy Compact 6C | VESC

Hi!

I’m new to the scene and stumbled onto this site. I don’t know much about skateboarding either, although I can handle a board. There is so much info out there and i’m slowly feeling my way around. Thanks in advance for any guidance & advice!

About Me: Proud dad from Toronto who drives a desk from 9 to 5. Typical jack of all but master of none. Some of my projects: Arcade Coffee Table | DropCatch | Optimus Prime 1 2 3

Goal / Usage: To scratch build an ultra portable electric penny longboard. Short range inner city commute to and from subway stations, max 5-6 miles per day, mostly flat. I’d never exceed 15-20 mph due to massive foot/car traffic so i can sacrifice top speed and big range if that saves me weight or space.

Deck: 23" custom plywood penny with carry handle cutout, recessed / embedded electronics. I will laser cut and laminate some plywood sheets to do it, steam bend a kick tail.

Trucks/Mount: Maybe a Paris 180mm with 83mm wheels and welded motor mount. Mount for a 63mm motor with 32mm bolt spacing (is this standard?).

Motor: Single motor sensorless drivetrain, TBD.

VESC: I’d want something very compact that I can directly solder a wiichuck receiver to, and also stack my own custom anti spark pcb. Eliminate whatever wires I possibly can and shove it into a tiny box. VESC seems to fit that bill. Stretch goal to embed ws2812 LEDs into the deck. I hope Ben Vedder put that functionality in to the firmware? 2nd stretch goal is to embed the on/off switch on the inside of the deck carrying handle cutout.

BATTERY: 6s - looking into smaller alternatives

Any thoughts / advice?

2 Likes

I believe the proper term is renaissance man!

You will do fine on 6s for the commuting you described.

70mm wheels might be a little on the small side. Generally 83mm is considered as low as one should go.