Godspeed | SCSK8 Pintail | Stock Trucks | Turnigy SK3 245kv | Custom Mount | Multistar LiPo 8S | VESC | Torqueboards Enclosure | Quanum 2.4GHz 3Ch Remote

Hi guys!

This is my first build, and I call it Godspeed. It has a top speed around 22MPH, and a range of about 16-18 miles, depending on the conditions. This is really all I could ever need for speed and range, but we’ll see what happens. In a few months, I’ll probably be wanting to build another one!

This design uses a cheap SCSK8 Pintail board with the stock trucks. I made the motor mount myself in my school’s CNC shop, and welded it to the trucks using a special plate adapter that I made to ensure the mount is welded straight. This is super important, because I have heard from friends that did not weld theirs straight that their belts wore out fast!

I used a 15mm HTD belt with a 14 tooth pinion, and a 40 tooth wheel pulley that a friend 3D printed for me. The wheel pulley is specially designed to fit in the 83mm and 90mm wheels with inner hubs. I’m using 83mm wheels. I chose this wide of a belt as a recommendation from my friend because he said he has never had to replace the belt due to its toughness.

The ESC is a VESC from Enertion, which initially had some issues. I think it may have been the small motor connectors that I had being low quality that led to the demise of the DRV chip. Thankfully, Charles from Enertion offered to replace the DRV free of charge, and I had the board up and running again within a week and a half. After replacing the 3.5mm bullet connectors with 5mm connectors, the VESC has had no issues. For settings, I have battery current limited at 40A out and 18A in (regerative braking). This has proven very good for flat surfaces. I may end up increasing the limit to 45A or even the full 50A if it’s not enough once I move back to school where there are lots of hills.