From racing drones to electric skateboards, time for the first build

Hey Guys,

It’s time to build a esk8! I bought a Meepo for my little brother (not here yet) and then realized I need a board too if we’re going to jam around together.

I’m no stranger to building things. I’m an electrical engineer, drone builder, equipment designer, and lover of tinkering so, I don’t think I should have a huge issue with building one of these monsters. But with all the information, good parts, bad parts, drama, and ideas out there I think it would be best for me to run my simple build past you guys!

So I want to build a portable, single motor, pulley driven esk8. Please look over my list and let me know what you think. Nothing is set in stone, and if you have better options then what I have below please let me know. I am located in San Diego, CA, USA so I would like to source as many parts in the US as possible. I want to do this right!

Mechanical Board - TBD, would prefer the smallest form factor that can fit the equipment below. Trucks - Caliber II Wheels - Orangatan Kegels Motor Mount - Mount! Pulley Kit - 15mm, 36T, 15T

Electrical VESC - FOCBox Motor - 6354 208kv Motor Battery - Namasaki Battery 5x 2S 60C LiPo, still figuring this out BMS - BesTech BMS, need to find a source for this. Really don’t want to have to buy 2 from the vendor Controller - TBD, not sure what to get. I really want to make sure it’s safe. Misc. - switches and whatnot depending on the components I pick

So what do you guys think? Are there better options I should be looking at?

Thanks for the help!

The pulley kit you listed as far as I know will only fit flywheel style wheels. There are other options for kegels

https://buildkitboards.com/collections/parts/products/36t-orangatang-kegel-pulley?variant=32845454597

Good luck.

Also if you don’t have your focbox yet. These were just restocked in Cali.

1 Like