Convert BDLC to FOC guide?

I’ve looked around a bit, and haven’t found anything, but do y’all know a good guide of converting BLDC settings to FOC?

1 Like

Well then you havent looked good enought. There is 10’s of threads Where it is described with both text and photos

5 Likes

Alright dude, if you going to be smart about it just don’t answer the question.

I’m no expert, but the conversion is relatively simple. This guide may serve as a general guide for FOC converters.

A few things to note:

• Make sure your ERPM limit is less than 60,000, or you will likely fry your DRV chip, as many VESC users have (including me, but not because of this reason). Set this in the PPM tab of your App Configuration, if you use PPM. If you aren’t, then I don’t know how to set it. (Ignore other settings with 0, focus in the red box)
  • If you’re running 12S, and using FOC, don’t. The chances of DRV failure will be much higher. As I am light, and don’t require much power, 6S suffices for me, and FOC runs flawlessly (so far, don’t quote me). I wouldn’t even use FOC on 10S to be honest.
  • The loud motor noise in the FOC detection is completly normal. Don’t panic like I did, when it made that sound!

Assuming that all settings work with BLDC, and that you have set:

(Click Read Configuration on the Bottom Left of BLDC Tool before continuing)

1. Motor Amps in Motor Configuration -> Motor -> Current Limits (Motor Max and Motor Min). You should test this, but start from around 30A in 6S, or 25A in 8-10S, and work your way up 5A at a time to a suitable number. A higher number is fine. You can observe the amps this in the “Realtime Data” tab. You should have already done this. Also, Motor Max should equal Motor Min (regen). Ignore my “0” Values.