Beware of motors with this common design

I have been using these motors for a few months now and have multiple failures in the exact same location both after only 1 month of use. The spot where you screw in the motor to the mount is too thin and not supported enough on 2 of the 4 screws. This broke off both motors you can see below:

I think the best mounting plate design is full metal without spaces, like Ollin or Alien or @michaeld33 Bitblock custom motors. Also sk3 has a sturdy mounting plate.

Whoever is getting these motors made for them in china should have them change this design to be fully metal all around without so much space in between.

Were all 4 screws were screwed in with loctite?

yes sir!!!

I have a similar NTM motor with over a year of use, no issues. Did the other screws vibrate out, or how did this fail? I would rotate, re-secure w/ the remaining 3 and continue riding… and use loctite if you didn’t previously.

I’m going to check out my old red NTM which looks identical for any cracks - GL!

All screws were tight with loctite. I check before and after every ride :wink:

I notice the location of the broken screw was on the the side of the motor that was facing the street. Maybe this can happen to the bottom facing screw hole if it gets impacted by rocks and is thin like this. maybe you have the thicker screw holes facing down instead and havent had this issue. Just thinking…

Anyways this problem wouldn’t ever be possible if the metal had less space in between.

These look like the same motors on @jlabs group buy?

Thanks for sharing. Our motors have the exact same design. We discussed it briefly in the team and we are not sure what could be the reason. We are ideating around the material, casting, wrong screws/mounting etc. Tomorrow we will film an attempt to replicate, or test the strength of our motors with some pliers, cutters and muscle force.

1 Like

Glad your making an effort to get to the bottom of this. Waiting for your results